Biogeographic Regions


Natura 2000: Pursuant to the "Habitats Directive", the European Commission in agreement with the Member States concerned, compiles a list of sites of Community importance for each of the six following biogeographic regions: Alpine, Atlantic, boreal, continental, Macaronesian and Mediterranean (indicative map provided at base of page).

Lists of sites of Community importance for biogeographical regions, pursuant to Council Directive 92/43/EEC ('Habitats Directive')...

Comprises the Community territory of the Alps (Austria, Italy, Germany, France), the Pyrenees (France and Spain), the Apennine mountains (Italy) and the northern Fennoscandian mountains (Sweden and Finland).
Download Alpine list [pdf 276Kb]
Comprises the entire territory of Ireland, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom, and parts of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Portugal and Spain.
Download Atlantic list [pdf 416Kb]
Comprises parts of the territory of Finland, Sweden and Lithuania and the territory of Estonia and Latvia.
Download Boreal list [pdf 1.1Mb]
Comprises the territory of Luxembourg, parts of the territory of Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, Poland, Slovenia and Sweden.
Download Continental list [pdf 1.2Mb]
Comprises the archipelagos of the Azores and Madeira (Portugal) and of the Canary Islands (Spain) in the Atlantic Ocean.
Download Macaronesian list [pdf 144Kb]
Not available - see indicative map below
Not available


Indicative map of pan-European biogeographic regions